Picture
Of all the things that I've expected to be difficult during the next few days, packing was not one of them. I'm usually excited to pack for trips and although the idea of packing nine months of supplies into two suitcases didn't sound easy, I didn't think for a minute that it would be anywhere near as difficult as it actually was! I don't usually consider myself a SUPER high-maintance girl with clothes (since I get all of them thrifting) but it turned out to be super hard to cut out some of my favorite clothes. Even though blog tutorials on how to pack seem totally silly and obvious, I found this blog and it really encouraged me! Everyone says to take less than you think you need, pack light, "take half the clothes and twice the money" etc. but this is MUCH easier said than done. Anyway, it was the last point on the blog that made me realize that it doesn't even matter what I take with me, because I will be IN SPAIN. Sure, it's nice to have your favorite pair of heels or three purses instead of one, but in the end it doesn't matter! Here's what it says, "Think about all of the exciting things you’re going to be doing while you’re away. You’ll hardly be thinking about the things you brought with you. The whole point of travelling is to leave your life behind for a while and be adventurous! Most people that travel tell me they regret bringing so much stuff when they go, so bring only the essentials!" (maplesyrupandkimchi.wordpress.com).

Anyway, after a long day of packing, repacking, and looking at airline requirements (which, by the way, make me CRAZY) I'm almost totally done. I just have to prep my carryon, photocopy my documents, and zip my suitcases! Both are under 50 lbs. so I'm very excited about that. Plus my mom and I get to spend a few days her sister's family and my cousin who is going abroad with me! My mom was incredibly helpful while I was packing and she went with me to Goodwill where I found the last few things I needed before I go (even though, of course, I doesn't matter what you take... it matters a little!). Most of the girls I know (or who I don't know that are giving me tips) have told me to just buy curling irons/straighteners/blow driers once I get there. That's a little hard for me to justify since I rarely buy new appliances here in the US unless they are WAY on sale. I have an adapter but none of our blow driers have duel voltage, so I decided I'd probably have to suck it up and drop fifteen euros or so on one. But lo and behold, I got to Goodwill and found a tiny hair drier, made for travel, with a switch for US and Euro power!! It switches the voltage for you! The best thing was it was in great condition and only cost $3. AND it's so small it fits right into my toiletry bag. 

Well, my next post will probably be from across the ocean! I would appreciate it if you keep me and Justin (and all our other friends going) in your thoughts and prayers as we embark on this journey for the next ten months of our lives! hasta leuag

grandma
9/11/2012 12:28:51 am

Looks like you got it all packed up, Shel. I can't believe you got your things in two suitcases, 50 pounds each. That's great! I think the blog helped---you probably don't need as much as you think. You're going to have a great time and we'll be thinking of you and we will pray for you everyday!

Reply
9/17/2012 08:22:36 pm

Oh Shel, that was the best time finding the last few things with you before leaving for Spain. Most fun I've had thrifting ~ and with the best daughter in the world! So glad you and Justin will be together this year.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.